The Divine Zero – Pierce the Veil Music Review

Pierce the Veil is a post-hardcore band from San Diego that was formed in 2006 and founded by Vic Fuentes (vocals and guitar), Mike Fuentes (drums), Jaime Preciado (bass), and Tony Perry (lead guitar). Their albums include A Flair for the Dramatic (2007), Selfish Machines (2010), and Collied with the Sky (2012). Their popularity has sky-rocketed in the past few years, earning them sold out shows and many awards.

The Divine Zero, released June 18th, 2015, is the first single off of their highly anticipated upcoming fourth studio album that is set to be released in late 2015 through Fearless Records.

The Divine Zero does not disappoint the dedicated ptv fans. They’ve taken aspects of Selfish Machines and incorporated new features into it that give it an independent and likable sound.

At first I did not love the song because it sounded like a bunch of instruments playing independently rather than as a unit. Also, I could not make out Vic’s words. The lyrics sounded like run on sentences that were mashed together with random pauses in between. There is so much packed into this song that it can be overwhelming. But (as usual) I kept listening to it and looked up the lyrics and began to enjoy the song. Although I felt a little overwhelmed at first, the more I listened to it the more I became accustomed to the intensity.

Overall, I like it. It may not be the absolute best Pierce the Veil song in the history of their career, but it is definitely a good song to rock out to. I like the sound of this song and I look forward to the rest of the album.

~Stay Punk Rock~

Rating: 3.5/5
Favorite Lyrics:
Desperate times and desperate measures/ I come so close, my hopes are severed by the downside

The Divine Zero Lyric Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzOF3R7lnok

Where you can find Pierce the Veil:
http://piercetheveil.net/
https://twitter.com/piercetheveil

2 thoughts on “The Divine Zero – Pierce the Veil Music Review

Leave a comment